Method for disabling Windows Genuine Validation

Well, as of late, I have been delaying updating Windows because of the stupid update that would effectively not allow me to get Windows Updates besides using Automatic updates. I had been using the disable the Validation Add-on trick, but from what I heard, this update made that useless. So I looked around for a cure, and found this forum. There are several pages of discussion, but the post that I tried via an anonymous tip was the suggestion by barn9:

"just replace LegitCheckControl.dll in your C:\WINDOWS\system32 folder with the one from the link below: http://rapidshare.de/files/14475249/LegitCheckControl.dll.html

I am a complete novice, but I did the above, and it worked perfectly for me, a very easy solution once it was done. (Thanks to heskey on another thread here.)
I was a little confused after reading this thread, but I just…

1. downloaded the above file to my machine (you don’t have to open it)…
2. moved it to my Windows/system32 folder (where it asked me if I wanted to replace the existing LegitCheckControl.dll, I said Yes)…..
3. went to Windows Update, ran it, got updates, and installed updates.

Easy as 1 2 3. I’m adding this because if it had been spelled out in steps, I would have understood the process better, and not been confused by the banter. Hope this helps any other "confused novices" like myself.

Aviran’s Place :: View topic – Bypass Windows Genuine Advantage – Workaround

This has worked well for me so far, and if you are in the same boat as me, you could try it out. This is illegal, and I can’t suggest this as a permanent solution, however, I do this see as a temporary solution for those you who are saving up so they can give MS some more money (Sorry, I had to add that).

Also, I might have gotten some of my 15 minutes of fame. Lloyd, from Flock, mentioned some of people who have helped out Flock in their own way. Somehow, I am one of them.

 

technorati tags: ,

3 Responses to Method for disabling Windows Genuine Validation

  1. Lloyd D Budd says:

    Jon, my thanks for contributing to Flock! You are a very talented person, and if fame is what you seek, I imagine you will find it πŸ˜‰

  2. Lloyd D Budd says:

    Once you publish your post, don’t change the date, it breaks pingbacks, etc πŸ˜‰

  3. no name says:

    The dll is no longer available at the link you mention.

Leave a Reply

