Coding

Last spring I thought about coding a podcast downloader in Python. I figured I would find time during the summer. Well, that didn’t happen. I probably had the time, but I was too busy playing WoW. I am going to try my hand at this project again. Hopefully I get somewhere this time though.

I am planning to write a basic podcast client, which will probably be command line based. Basically what I want it to do is allow me to subscribe to some podcast feeds, check for updates in the background via a cron job, and then download new enclosures when the feed is updated. Pretty basic, but still the most involved project I have tried.

I was in class yesterday and started doing a little planning in my head, but I am still pretty unsure on quite a few of the details. I know what I want the program to do, but pretty unsure how io implement my idea. Dive into Python has some examples of HTML and XML processing in Python, so hopefully that will be a useful resource.

So, why the renewed interest in this project? Well, for one, my programming class this spring is using Python so I have been trying to get ahead of the game. For another, I decided to look into using SVN locally so I need a project to work on.

If you are familiar with Python and have any knowledge to pass onto me or tutorials to share, please do. I haven’t done much coding in Python so I might be a little behind the curve.

2 Responses to Coding

  1. tanya says:

    hey do u want my code book sou know some of the codes? what is ur page gonna be on?….. i might be able to help u with color options and such

  2. […] Well, in my last post, I wrote about my plans to write up a simple pod(net)cast client that ran in the terminal and could download whatever feed I wanted to subscribe to. Well, I have made a few steps forward an actual useable product. […]

Leave a Reply

